How to pick your whey

I didn’t believe in having whey when I started working out. It’s not like I wanted to build muscles. And when I went looking for information online, all the stories about whey being a cause of kidney stones freaked me out.

I mentioned this to APC.

*APC is a friend from B school who went from slightly overweight to fit to ripped. He is my go to for any fitness related questions*

He brushed off all the suspicions. Whey CAN lead to kidney stones because the extra protein creates pressure on the kidneys but only if you don’t drink enough water. I went to healthkart.com looking for a sasta and tikau whey. The website is useful because of the reviews. I bought Endura because it cost 1k for 1 small can and figured if it became part of my daily ritual I could switch to something more expensive. Why spend more money on trying something new?

I started taking whey after every workout- strength training or cardio. 1 scoop in water. Sure, earlier I had it with milk but now I have switched to water. You may even get a shaker free on the website. Add 1 scoop to 3/4 glass water, shake it well and drink. It may or may not taste good. That is not the point. With Endura, I gained 500 gm of protein weight in one month which is fantastic.

I have been taking whey for 1.5 years now. I have switched to a more expensive brand which does not necessarily translate into better results though. After trial and error I have decided to stick to Muscle Blaze. 1 pound of can costs around 3k or less.

Here are tips on whey:

– Buy the cheapest one if you are starting out. I would recommend Endura.

– Have it with water. Best way to have it. I do add it to mango shake in the mornings but evenings it is only with water

– Drink lots of water

– There is a specific window in which whey should be had after the workout. I think it is 30-45 mins. I generally carry whey in the shaker in my gym bag instead of waiting to come home.

– Fix a budget and buy the best whey in that budget

– Don’t worry about things like isolates and all initially. Buy within the budget

– Isolates are a purer form of protein. They have fewer carbs. If you are trying to lose weight, it is better to have isolates. But then again, if you end up eating stuff like bread and cakes… does it really matter how many carbs are there in the whey? Keep it simple.

– Isopure is a zero carb whey in the market and considered the best but it is freaking expensive. Unless you are trying to drop your body weight drastically and get ripped, no point spending this kind of money.

Any other queries? You can always google all the technical information. This advice is only for beginners, of course.

Leave a Reply

